Residents informed of key dates for Elections on 6 May 2021

Cumbria Police and Crime Commissioner Election

Residents in all wards of Barrow Borough Council will be able to vote in the Cumbria Police and Crime Commissioner Election on 6 May. This election has been postponed from 2020.

Barrow Borough Council – By-Elections in Hindpool and Roosecote Wards

One seat will be contested in each of the above two Wards after both became vacant last year.

Cllr Rory McClure who represented Roosecote sadly died in January 2020 and Cllr David Pidduck, who represented Hindpool resigned in July 2020.

Candidates will bid to secure victory in the two wards when voters go to the polls on Thursday, May 6.  Polling Stations will be open from 7.00 am to 10.00 pm.

Residents are reminded of the following key dates:

  • The deadline for receiving applications for registering to vote is midnight (11.59pm) on Monday 19 April
  • The deadline for receiving new postal vote and proxy postal applications and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on Tuesday 20 April
  • The deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy is 5pm on Tuesday 27 April.


Potential candidates have until 4pm on Thursday, April 8, to submit a nomination.

Elections in the Barrow Borough Council area are normally held every four years, when every seat on the council is contested. The last election was in 2019.

By-elections are necessary when a seat becomes vacant.

Poll Cards will be delivered to all registered electors and details of candidates standing in the Police and Crime Commissioner Election and the Hindpool and Roosecote By-Elections will be published in due course.