By-election candidates revealed after deadline for nominations passes

THE candidates who will battle for votes in two by-elections in Barrow have been confirmed.

The deadline for nominations was 4pm on Thursday April 8.

It can now be confirmed that the following individuals will contest the vacant seats.

In the Hindpool ward, the candidates are:

  • Niyall Phillips for the Conservative Party

  • Jo Tyson for the Labour Party

In Roosecote ward, the candidates are:

  • Paul Griffiths for the Labour Party

  • Jay Zaccarini for the Conservative Party

Residents are reminded of the following key dates:

  • The deadline for receiving applications for registration to vote is midnight on Monday 19 April

  • The deadline for receiving new postal vote and proxy postal applications, and for changes to existing postal or proxy votes is 5pm on Tuesday 20 April

  • The deadline for receiving new applications to vote by proxy is 5pm on Tuesday 27 April.